Book Reviews

Book Review: “Dangerous Alliance”

As promised, today I am reviewing Dangerous Alliance! I interviewed the author of this novel this past Monday, so you can check that out at this link first if you’d like. Or you could just stay here and read my thoughts on the book, which was my first read of the year!! The suspense had really built up before I read it, as it often seems to with debut books for me, and I’m so glad it didn’t disappoint! I think I’ve gotten better at picking books to read that I will like over the years :P. Anyway, onto the actual review!

Title: Dangerous Alliance

Author: Jennieke Cohen

Genre: Young Adult Romantic Historical Fiction

Rating: 5/5 Stars!

Synopsis: “Lady Victoria Aston has everything she could want: an older sister happily wed, the future of her family estate secure, and ample opportunity to while her time away in the fields around her home.

But now Vicky must marry—or find herself and her family destitute. Armed only with the wisdom she has gained from her beloved novels by Jane Austen, she enters society’s treacherous season.

Sadly, Miss Austen has little to say about Vicky’s exact circumstances: whether the roguish Mr. Carmichael is indeed a scoundrel, if her former best friend, Tom Sherborne, is out for her dowry or for her heart, or even how to fend off the attentions of the foppish Mr. Silby, he of the unfortunate fashion sensibility.

Most unfortunately of all, Vicky’s books are silent on the topic of the mysterious accidents cropping up around her…ones that could prevent her from surviving until her wedding day.”

44244324

I was really excited to read this book because I haven’t read a lot of historical fiction lately, but it is truly one of my favourite genres. The historical aspects of the book really impressed me and I would absolutely say that this book is one of the best historical fiction novels I have ever read. It intertwines mystery and romance into a historical romp perfect for fans of Jane Austen! I hadn’t read any Jane Austen books before (though they are now all on my TBR), so the references made to these stories were a bit lost on me. But it didn’t affect my enjoyment of the story. If you are an Austen fan, you’ll definitely want to check this out!

The mystery wasn’t quite what I thought it would be, in that I didn’t know what the mystery was going to be before I started reading. However, I did find it very interesting and especially so because it opened my eyes to some of the social rules of the time period. This fact-dropping is something that, overall, I found to be my favourite part about the book (although I also loved the characters, who were very well developed and so easy to fall in love with). I loved learning more about this time period and the tidbits that the author shared with the reader were so fun and even made me giggle several times!

So, overall, this is my new favourite historical fiction book and it could be yours too if you like Jane Austen, witty and lovable characters, or a swoony old-fashioned romance!!

Happy reading! What is your favourite historical fiction novel?

Mayah XO

Copyright 2020

 

5 thoughts on “Book Review: “Dangerous Alliance”

  1. Normally this sort of historical fiction isn’t my go-to. But having just read Little Women and been surprised how much I enjoyed it, I’m definitely on the look out for more in that kind of genre with the certain charm they carry off. This sounds a really delightful read, one I shall have to look out for. Great review, thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s